Global Ukraine Rail Task Force

Global Ukraine Rail Task Force

After Russia’s unprovoked and brutal invasion of Ukraine, one thing became immediately clear: the critical role of the Ukrainian and European rail systems in evacuating refugees as well as transporting humanitarian aid and agricultural produce.

This is why the Global Ukraine Task Force was set up fast, in order to coordinate technical, mechanical, and policy support for Ukrainian freight and passenger rail companies as well as refugee trains. More details on the Task Force's objectives can be found further below.

In addition, the Task Force is working together with WE AID - founded by Phineo, the German branch of the leading charitable organization United Way - on a donation campaign to raise funds for the Ukrainian railways system in this crisis.


First distribution of the proceeds collected under the donation campaign

In the course of several months, more than 100.000€ were collected thanks to the generosity of the donors. The proceeds were sent to the Trade Union of Railwaymen and Transport Construction of JSC Ukrainian Railway to be used to purchase 5000 food packages that will be shipped and delivered to railway workers and their families at the frontline and newly liberated territories of Ukraine (Kharkiv, Kupyansk, Bakhmut, Kherson, Nikopol, Marhanets, Izyum, Konotop, Bakhmach, Khutir-Mikhailivsky, Chernihiv, etc.). The food packages will consist of: flour, pasta, rice, corn and wheat grits, oil, canned fish and meat, pate, tea, sugar and biscuits.

The Global Ukraine Rail Task Force would like to wholeheartedly thank the generous donors who contributed, especially United Way’s “United for Ukraine” fund and the Norwegian rail infrastructure manager Bane NOR.

In addition, the Global Ukraine Rail Task Force would like to thank the wonderful people of the Task Force’s partner WE AID for their tireless efforts and dedication in helping us running this donation campaign and making sure that the proceeds reach the Ukrainian railway workers.

Donate online

You can still donate in Euros, British pounds or US dollars on WE-AID's website:

Once there, please click on to make a payment with any credit card or debit card, and not only with Paypal.

Bank transfer

There is also a bank account for our campaign. Monies from any currency can be paid to:

Account Holder: WE AID gGmbH  (Note: WE AID gGmbH is handling this initiative's donations)
IBAN: DE48100205000001838801

Bank name: Bank für Sozialwirtschaft Aktiengesellschaft
Bank address: Konrad Adenauer-Ufer 85, 50668 Köln (Cologne), Germany
Telephone: +49 (0) 221 97356-0



The primary aim of the Global Ukraine Rail Task Force is to provide a roundtable to analyse the impact of Russia’s aggressive invasion on Ukraine’s rail sector and to seek solutions. The twin goals are to address the humanitarian crisis enveloping the rail sector as well as rebuilding the rail infrastructure to replace war damage and meet the long term needs of a democratic Ukraine linked to the European Union.



The Task Force will work with political  stakeholders and reach out to experts in the international rail community to implement our core objectives, providing  cross-functional expertise. The Task Force will vet obstacles and attempt to identify practical solutions through our members as well as governmental and industry allies.

Our Four Objectives are:

  1. Address the humanitarian crisis. This starts with a commitment to i) support railway employees and their families who are suffering from the invasion; ii) to rescue and place Ukrainian refugees through the mobilization of special chartered trains that take people out and bring supplies back in.
  2. Rebuild the Rail Sector Infrastructure. In the short term the destroyed track, bridges and electricity sub-stations must be replaced.
  3. Address Passenger Rail Capacity. Increase of commuter and passenger rail capacity, on both domestic and international routes, as the best way to move people in the coming years. Reduction of dependency on air and highways for personal travel will underly a plan to expand commuter and intercity passenger rail growth both in the short term and long term.
  4. Maximize Freight Capacity. A primary focus will be on continuing quick rehabilitation of infrastructure (Task Force Objective 2) as well as technologies and improvements necessary to expand the throughput of all goods. This includes grain, oil, metals, and ore supplies towards the EU for maximum replacement of current Russian exports; and fuel also in the reverse direction where Ukraine is in need.


  • Preliminary Study of the long-term goal of the best use of the Ukrainian Rail Sector in the movement of grain;
  • Preliminary Study of best use of rail in movement of fuel;
  • Facilitate allocation of 1435 mm rolling stock and increase the capacity of the European forwarders / terminals.


The Task Force is currently hosted by ALLRAIL, an association of independent passenger rail companies based in Brussels, Belgium. Additional hosts will be sought to share in the administrative function of this volunteer organization. The Task Force has two components:

  1. TASK FORCE Members – Steering Committee. The Steering Committee will be composed of current interim TASK FORCE Steering Committee  Members or additional members selected as unanimously agreed to by the Steering Committee.
  2. TASK FORCE Members – Advisory Panel. The Steering Committee will invite individuals to become Task Force Members who will serve on an Advisory Panel. They will be selected based on knowledge and experience in specific areas that will assist Ukraine Rail Sector development.


  • Honorable Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur, Honorary Chair  - Co-Chair of Ukrainian Congressional Caucus in the US House of Representatives
  • Jolene Molitoris, Chair - former US Federal Railroad Administrator
  • Nick Brooks, Co-Chair - Secretary General of Alliance of Rail New Entrants in Europe (ALLRAIL)
  • Ray Chambers, Vice Chair - President of US Association of Innovative Passenger Rail Operations (AIPRO)
  • Yuriy Maslikov - CEO of the privately owned Ukrainian freight rail operator Ost-West Logistik Netzwerk GmbH (OWLN)
  • Lord Tony Berkeley  - member of the UK House of Lords and former President of the European Rail Freight Association (ERFA)
  • Oleksandr Kamyshin  - CEO of Ukrainian Railways
  • Jon Michael McGrath - Owner of McGrath Rail
  • Robert Vander Clute  - former co-chair UIC and Owner of First Rail Consulting
  • Peter Gibbons - Chief Security Officer at UK rail infrastructure manager Network Rail


  • Volodymyr Shemayev - Ukrainian Railways’ Head of Office for International Projects - Alternate to Mr Kamyshin
  • Tim Hollaway - Recording Secretary - Alternate to Mr Maslikov
  • Jon McKinley - Foreign Affairs Assistant to US Congresswoman Kaptur
  • Charles Hogue – Labour and Manpower specialist
  • Mason Baxter (AIPRO) – Alternate to Mr Chambers
  • Jon Michael McGrath II – Alternate to Mr McGrath
  • Katharina Dekeyser (ALLRAIL) – Alternate to Mr Brooks
  • David “Woody” Woodruff - CN Railroad – Infrastructure & Freight
  • Marie Keister – Public Affairs
  • Peter Peyser  - Peyser Associates - Commuter rail
  • Barbara McNamara - former US National Security Agency Deputy Director


If you have further questions about the Task Force, then please contact:
+32 479 07 08 06